The Search for a New Minister is On!

The Search is On! Your Ministerial Search Committee is already hard at work in the search for a new settled minister who will be the best match for the UUSA. During our kick-off, day-long retreat (facilitated by our Ministerial Transitions Coach, Debby Bergh), we discussed our next steps, deepened our understanding of the entire search process, and chose our primary roles. It was a productive meeting and really helped us get to know one another better and begin on the right foot. We are excited and honored to take on this important work on your behalf. The Search Committee members and their corresponding roles are listed here: Committee Chair, Carolyn Cave; Congregational Record, Jenn Chylack and Mary Herman; Hospitality, Lisa Cyr; Communications, Lisa Cyr and Mary Herman; Congregational Input, Steve Rice and Anne Perkins; Treasurer, Anne Perkins; Negotiation Team Member, Steve Rice. Over the next few months, we will need lots of help and involvement from the entire congregation, so please look out for communications from us. Key for us is determining who our congregation is, who we want to be, and what kind of minister can help us fulfill those aspirations. There will be two main ways we will gather that information. First, beginning in late August, we will be sending out an online survey to members and friends (or paper for those who don’t use email) which will need your careful attention. Then in early October, we’ll hold small cottage meetings, which are like focus groups. Look for a letter in your mailbox in late August which will provide a step-by-step explanation of the entire process and your important role in our work.

We’ve been asked about the confidential nature of the Search Committee’s work. We want to make our process as transparent as possible. Down the line, however, aspects of our work with potential ministerial candidates will be confidential. At any point in the process, please do feel free to ask us your questions and we’ll provide answers to the best of our ability. Thank you for electing us and entrusting us to carry out this very important work! Carolyn Cave, Jennifer Chylack, Lisa Cyr, Mary Herman, Anne Perkins, Steve Rice

Leave a Reply